A Gluten Free Mistake! By now I should know better…

Posted : Wed, Aug 8, 2007 11:09 am
Filed under : Eating Out > Gluten Free Canada > Gluten Free Living > Gluten Free Products

You would think after being Gluten Free for 7 years I would have my diet totally under control and
NEVER get contaminated!

Well, in fact it is the opposite. I was more ‘’ in my first few years than I am today!

Rice Cakes

You see as I learn to live with my and rarely have any symptoms, I begin to get relaxed and comfortable with my regular brands and products. A perfect example is yesterday. I was buying some groceries for my work lunches this week at my regular grocery store, when I noticed that were on special. My usual choice of butter popcorn was already sold out, so not being able to decide between White Cheddar or Tomato and Basil; I decided I would just get both.

Today I opened the packet of Tomato and Basil and was delighted how tasty they were. I was already planning the toppings I would add for lunch when I started to take notice at how much flavouring they were coated in and I began to wonder… hhmm maybe these are not Gluten Free? I was so tempted to just take another bite and claim ignorance, but I seam to be doing this a lot lately so decided to take my own advice and do some research.

This is what I found on the Website in the FAQ -

13. Do you have any ?
• Although The Quaker Oats Company of Canada primarily produces products that are grain-based, we do have a few gluten-free products. Most flavours of Quaker® Rice and Corn Cakes and Quaker® Crispy Minis Rice Chips are gluten free. However, our newest flavour of
, is not gluten free. Gatorade® Thirst Quencher, Aunt Jemima® Syrups and Quaker® Corn Meal are all gluten free. Quaker® Puffed Rice is also considered gluten free; however, as is produced on the same production line as Puffed Wheat, there is a minute chance of cross contamination. Due to changes which might occur to the product formula, it is important to check our ingredient listing regularly.

Doh! I was so upset with them for making a rice product and then adding yeast to it!!! Why I ask why!!! But on top of that I was angry and frustrated with myself. I know better than not to read the label on a product, especially a new flavour.

So Suzi’s new rule is:

“Always check the ingredients labels on new flavours and products, but to also check the products I eat regularly, because you never know then they change the ingredients and what is gluten free one day, may not be the next!”



Blink It  

2 Comments

2 Comments »

  1. Pardon my ignorance, as I have been GF about as long as you, hut how – in this case – does the yeast make these gluten ridden?

    And yes…rechecking labels and contacting manufacturs on an ad hoc basis is sound advice, I think.

    Comment by tgchi13 — August 8, 2007 @ 5:10 pm

  2. OK I have done my research and according to the Canadian Celiac Association, it is only ‘brewers yeast’ that contains Gluten, all other forms of yeast are Gluten Free.

    I was always of the old school mind that when in doubt leave it out, and in Australia, that meant no yeast.

    However from talking with the Canadian Celiac Assocation, brewers yeast is only used in beer, so I can feel safe eating yeast on any food products.

    WOW.. that is great news and will introduce many more foods into my diet. Thank you for bring this to my attention.

    So the next question is – what is in the tomato and basil rice cakes that makes them not gluten free?? Because I certainly suffered after eating one?

    Comment by Gluten Free Suzi — August 14, 2007 @ 12:22 pm

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment